Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava

The Slovak University of Technology (SUT) in Bratislava, the first polytechnical institution in Slovakia, was founded on 25th June 1937 under the original name **Technical University of M. R. Štefánik**, and was situated in Košice.

The Slovak University of Technology re-established the education of mining and forestry engineers in the first decade of its activity, building on traditions of technical university schooling in Slovakia, which started with the Academy of Mining and Forestry in Banská Štiavnica, founded by Maria Theresa in 1763. This Academy ranked (for more than 150 years) among the most prominent technical schools not only within the Austro-Hungarian Monarchy but also in a wider international context.

The school moved to its present seat in Bratislava in 1939, when a new law changed the original name to the **Slovak Technical University** (SVŠT) and, at the same time, a legal basis was established for its full development.

The founders of the school and particular branches are such outstanding personalities as Professors J. Hronec, the first Rector, Š. Bella, K. Křivanec, K. Havelka, D. Andrusov, P. Danišovič, E. Belluš, D. Ilkovič, F. Valentín, M. Gregor, J. Gašperík, J. Čabelka, J. Gonda, Ľ. Kneppo, Š. Schwarz and others, thanks to whom the school was built on the model of other European technical universities right from the start.

Since its foundation till the December 2001, The Slovak University of Technology in Bratislava has educated 75 663 Master degree full-time students, 9619 Master degree part-time or distance students and 4832 Bachelor degree students.

At present the **Slovak University of Technology** in Bratislava consists of the following faculties:

- 1. Faculty of Civil Engineering
- 2. Faculty of Mechanical Engineering
- 3. Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Information Science
- 4. Faculty of Chemical and Food Technology
- 5. Faculty of Architecture
- 6. Faculty of Materials Science and Technology

The Faculty of Materials Science and Technology (MtF) in Trnava



was established on 1 January 1986 by of the Czechoslovak decree Government. It was originally named the Faculty of Machine Technology. However, the history of this Faculty is much older than the date of its establishment shows. Its history is closely connected with technological branches of machine construction, the foundations of which laid at the Department of

Mechanical and Electrical Engineering in the forties.

In February 1991 the Academic Senate of the Faculty suggested a new name for this institution - the Faculty of Materials Science and Technology - which is its present official name. Faculty of Materials Science and Technology is one of the seven faculties of the Slovak University of Technology (STU), the oldest and the largest University of Technology in Slovakia.

The basic organisational units promoting the scientific research programme at the Faculty are the departments. In the academic year 2002-2003 the Faculty comprises the following departments:

Department of Applied Mechanics

Department of Engineering Pedagogy and Psychology

Department of Environmental and Safety Engineering

Department of Forming

Department of Foundry

Department of Humane Sciences

Department of Industrial Engineering and Management

Department of Information Technology and Automation

Department of Languages

Department of Machining and Assembly

Department of Materials Engineering

Department of Mathematics

Department of Non-Metallic Materials

Department of Physical Education and Sports

Department of Physics

Department of Quality Engineering

Department of Technological Devices and Systems

Department of Welding

Detached workplaces in Brezno, Dubnica, Nitra and Komárno

The educational and research activities of the Faculty are aimed at training the experts and solving research tasks in the field of industrial (partially mechanical engineering) production. It offers the university education in the field of new materials and technologies. Faculty also trains future experts in automation and robotisation of technological processes, plant management, quality of engineering production and applied information technology.

Following the requirement for diversification of all forms of study and graduate profiles, the Faculty provides Bachelor's degree courses (BSc.), Master's degree courses (MSc.), and postgraduate doctoral (PhD) degree courses. In the academic year 2002/2003 - 4285 students studied at the Faculty in various courses.

As it follows from the results of the successful accreditation carried out at the Faculty in April 2001, the following majors can be studied within the below mentioned types of accredited courses:

1. Bachelor degree courses (3 years)

Machine Production Technology

Technological Devices and Systems

Materials Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Information Technology and Automation in Industry

Industrial Engineering and Management

Production Quality Engineering

Safety Technology

2. Master of Science degree courses (2 years)

Machine Production Technology

Technological Devices and Systems

Materials Engineering

Environmental Engineering

Information Technology and Automation in Industry

Industrial Engineering and Management

Production Quality Engineering

3. PhD degree courses (3 years)

Automation and Control

Materials Engineering and Limiting States of Materials

Machine Technologies and Materials

Production Quality Engineering

Plant Management

Theory of Technical Subjects Training

4. Complementary Teacher Training (2 years)

Teaching Technical Subjects

Academic year is divided into two semesters. Students attend lectures, seminars and exercises in lecture theatres, classrooms and laboratories. During the first year undergraduates take exams in mathematics, physics and other specific subjects. Exams and credits are recorded in the record book. After passing State Exams, writing and defending thesis, a graduate is granted the title "Bachelor of Science".